Home » Uncategorized » Sister Alma Rose’s Morning Prayer: Compassion like the brush of wings

Sister Alma Rose’s Morning Prayer: Compassion like the brush of wings

To Kadosheinu Our Holy One

rose_windowPhoto: Luc Viatour

O Kadosheinu, your angels must’ve come in legions while I slept. In the night I felt love and compassion like the brush of wings, and I woke up filled with joy and I wanted to sing “Amazing Grace,” only I don’t have my voice back quite yet, and Y’all knows it ain’t more’n a croak at the best of times, so I whispered:

Glory to thee, Kadosheinu,
Holy, healing God of light!
Sore in need of thee I came to
Kneel before thee in the night.

Kadosheinu, Kadosheinu,
Holy, healing God of light!

One by one, the angels blessed me,
“Rephael! God hast thou healed”;
And the sickness that possessed me
Was as nothingness revealed.

Kadosheinu, Kadosheinu,
Rephael! God hast thou healed!

“Rephael! In mind and body,
“Thou hast ever been, and whole,
“Ever in the light of God. Be
“Now at peace thy heart and soul.”

Kadosheinu, Kadosheinu,
Be at peace thy heart and soul.
Be at peace thy heart and soul.

In the quiet of the morning I knew that all was well. Y’all done give me the strength to do what was needed. With a full heart I can pray for others. Command me now: Y’all’s servant waits. Amen.

diagram_of_names_of_god

Above: 17th-century “diagram” of the Names of God

Kadosheinu: Sister Alma Rose uses more than seventy names of God, most of them in Hebrew.

Rephael “healed of God” is the name of the son of Shemaiah and grandson of Obed-edom in the Old Testament.

“Holy” From the Online Etymology Dictionary at http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=holy O.E. halig “holy,” from P.Gmc. *khailagas (cf. O.N. heilagr, Ger. heilig, Goth. hailags “holy”), …probably “that must be preserved whole or intact, that cannot be transgressed or violated,” and connected with O.E. hal (see health) and O.H.G. heil “health, happiness, good luck”

Leave a Reply

