Home » prayer » Hymn 87

Hymn 87

IN THE GARDEN OF MY GRACE

PICTURE OF SERENITY. Girl in the Garden at Bellevue, Édouard Manet 1832-1883. Manet, a French painter, was one of the first nineteenth-century artists to approach modern-life subjects [and]... was a pivotal figure in the transition from Realism to Impressionism

Girl in the Garden at Bellevue, Édouard Manet 1832-1883

GOD ALMIGHTY, here beside me,
come and sit with me awhile.
Father-Mother, comfort me, your
cherished and beloved child.

Bring me ease and consolation;
make me glad of who I am.
As you loved me at Creation,
wrap me in that love again.

All I need you have provided.
Fear has faded with the night.
All I ask lies at my feet—my
help, my hope, and my delight.

Not behind the mass of mountain,
hidden high or buried deep,
all I sought is spread around me
like the bright and boundless sea.

All my striving to be better
all my worry and my fear,
at your word I now surrender
as you whisper in my ear:

Peace, my child; for all is well. Now
dry your tears and lift your face
to the sun, for you are dwelling
in the garden of my grace.

Everything you need for hunger
grows in my eternal fields.
Eat; be filled with joy and wonder,
such as these is Heaven’s yield.

All you need for thirst is given,
with the rain that from above
pours to fill the streams and rivers.
Drink of it, and drink of love.

All your sins are long forgiven,
and your innocence restored,
as you were, made in my image,
on the day that you were born.

Seek and you will surely find your
dreams; the stars will light your way;
gentle lessons will remind you
what is needed for today.

Celebrate and weep no more. As
I have given, freely give.
Life and death I set before you
now. Choose life. Choose love, and live.

Peace, my child; for all is well. Now
dry your tears and lift your face
to the sun, for you are dwelling
in the garden of my grace.

© 2017 Mary Campbell & Annagrammatica

For Janice

Purple Flowering Shrub to illustrate prayer "The Shrub"

 

 

Leave a Reply

